Stitching speed for free style quilting

Grammybear

I am a novice at free style quilting and am experiencing major problems trying to regulate my stitching feed. I have a Baby Lock and have always had problems keeping the speed of my stitches and my foot control in sync.  It's probably me and my heavy foot, but I was wondering if there is a foot control that is easier to regulate (control) than what I have. I don't think there is anything special about the foot control needed for a Baby Lock, and I have not heard that there is anything special to use for free style quilting. Help the baby is due in 7 weeks and I still have not one stitch that I am satisfied with.

If we are talking DSM (domestic sewing machine) Baby Lock, then set the maximum stitch speed about medium.  Then with a practice quilt sandwich draw some straight lines and and some swirls.  As everyone knows how they sign their name, practice quilting that.  

You must move your hands in the proper relation with your needle speed.  If you feel the fabric tugging against the needle, then you need to speed up the needle.  If your needle is doing repeated stitches in one spot or with very short stitch spacing you are depressing the foot peddle too much.  Back off a little on the foot pressure, and slow the needle down.  

Practice signing your name bigger than normal, and see how you like your stitches.  Then write some words.  It will take a few hours to get the hang of it.  Try some small pebbling.  They hide all kinds of errors.  

Get some paper and simply doodle your designs on the paper.  Draw out some quilt blocks, so you have to make your mind learn how to get into and more importantly out of corners.  You can always back track over your stitch lines, but it is easier to not have to do this when you are starting out.  Doodling the designs will help you immensely in my opinion.  

Watch some YouTube videos on free motion quilting.  

Angela Walters, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cpUWw5zYMc