Which machine to purchase

I am planning to purchase a longarm machine and I don't know which one would be the best. Anyone have any advice.

I am new to all of this and need all of your help.

It's so hard to get anyone around here to do my quilts and the tops are just pileing up.

Thanks

North Carolina Cowgirl who likes to make quilts.

Marcie

Marcie,

If you have a chance to try out some machine, like at a show, by all means do so. They are too expensive not to take them for a test drive first. There are several manufactures and you need to decide which one is right for you. Of course I own a Millie, and recommend APQS for their prompt and friendly customer service. I never have any trouble with my machine, unless it is operator error :) But I know people who own other brands who would tell you the same thing. Look to see if there is a showroom or a demo going on in your area and contact them about attending.

Like the advice above, please try as many different machines and manufacturers as you can. I have tried all the machines I can get my hands on and took some classes also to make sure this is for me. It's hard when you're looking at all the goodies but really try to decide which options you can or can't live without, especially if the budget says you can't. I found that going with a slightly simpler machine but getting the brand I wanted was the way to go to save money and get the quality. My APQS Freedom SR is coming in September and I couldn't be happier. And if you will be starting a business along with the machine purchase, make sure your local quilt shops know you. The are all kinds of discussions here on starting a business, getting customers, etc. Take advantage of all the wonderful advice here. Good luck!

Thanks, sounds great.

The machine you are getting is the one I am leaning towards or the Millie:) The topics and advice on here is wonderful.

I am considering a business, to take care of the expense of the machine.