in the beginning

I am just beginning my journey in this arena. Questions that come to mind are:

Did you have machine quilting experience before you started your business?

Where did you receive most of your training?

If you had no machine quilting experience prior to purchasing your APQS machine, what did you use for practice.... your own unquilted tops, cheater quilts, etc.

How did you receive your first customer?

Thanks for any answers.... Deborah

Hi Deborah,

These are really great questions to ponder, & we have all been there!;)

I got into machine quilting 4 yrs.ago. I could never find anyone in my area to do custom work. And cramming it through my Bernina at high speeds, was *NOT* my idea of a good time!:P

I knew what skills I wanted to obtain, so I took the plunge & bought my APQS machine, & took a class from my Rep Marilyn Badger. She was great at encouraging me to push myself to excel, & I continued to practice, practice, practice!

I would take a class from teachers at the Machine Quilting shows, quilting video's you name it!

Then once I had quilted on muslin & my own quilts, I went to a local charity organization that makes quilts for the community. They were more than happy to give me quilts to do, it was great practice to achieve my skills, & they appreciated the finished quilts! The wonderful thing was that group of women became a loyal customer base!

Your work will speak for it's self, & word of mouth is a great form of advertising. Of course you can befriend your local quilt shops, & your local quilt guilds are always an excellent resource!

I am sure there are many other things that you can do, but that is a few that come to mind.

Let us know if you have questions, we are here to help you in your quilting endeavors!:D

Hi Deborah,