Do you charge if a customer wants a panto you don't have?

I am just starting out and only have a dozen or so pantos, and I am unsure what to do if a customer wants something I don't have. So far I've just ordered it and paid for it myself, figuring that I'm building up my collection.

What do others do? Charge a portion of the cost? The whole thing? Do you think you lose customers if you ask them to pay some of the cost?

Thanks for any advice -

Julia

Julia,

You are building up your collection, but as you practice and/or work on someones quilt you are also gaining experience, and by that you are also earning the right to increase your prices. Which in turn will allow you to purchase more supplies.

In some areas where quilters many only get say 10 or so quilts a year its hard to purchase new supplies/toys and not feel the major crunch of a $25.00 panto. I never charged for threads or something special like a new panto, but I do understand where you might really feel the crunch.

If they are requesting something really really costly....I would think it not tacky to talk to them about the extra cost and explain that if they would pay for a portion of it that on their next quilt you can give them a discount.

I have no idea if this is a politically correct method, like I said I never needed to do this and used the full price at the end of the year as a tax deduction. So I too will sit back and see what the others have to say as well.

The only time I ever made someone pay for thread was back in the day when a small spool of Metallics was almost $20 a spool.

I never charge extra for a panto that I purchased specifically for one customers quilt, because 9 times out of 10 one of my other customers sees a picture of the quilt quilted and ends up wanting it on her quilt as well.

The cost is all part of building a business, talk to your CPA and find out if you can count these types of expenses as a lost when doing your yearly taxes.