Need to Make Business Changes

I've been quilting for others for 6 months and feel like I need to make some changes. For instance, I only want to offer edge-to-edge panto quilting and I do not want to offer batting anymore because I don't have the room to store it. What I have discovered over the last 6 months is there is no money in this and because of that, I want to keep things simple. Am I being unreasonable? Any input will be appreciated.

Are you being unreasonable. NO....its whatever works for you. If having batting doesn\'t work...don\'t, if edge to edge is all you want to offer your customers...that is totally okay.

There are no rules that say that you have to be a full service stop. Gable its whatever works for you. As you go you may change your mind, and if you don\'t COOL. If you are up front with your customers and lay it out that this is all you are wanting to offer this should be cool. But I would have a name of someone else should they ask for someone who does custom, or heirloom quilting and just go from there.

I think you are making a very wise business move.

I have been in business for over 2 years now, I have offered batting, backing, custom, ETE, and embroidered quilt labels. a couple months ago I too decided that I needed to make some changes in my business for the new year.

For instance I am not going to be offering batting or backing anymore, there is a lot of money tied up in it and since I don\'t have a quilt shop and can\'t buy the stuff at bulk/ low rates I would hve to raise my prices up too high just to make a profit. Plus like you said it takes up too much room.