pricing

wifemomquilter

Hi, i'm new to the LA business. my ad comes out in local papers tomorrow. How do you price a quilt with 2 designs. an all-over and a seperate for the border. would you charge the all-over price for the square inches that are done with, say, a simple meander and the panto price for the # of sq.in. in the border? or a 2-design price for the total sq.in.?

thanks for your help.

Carmen

Hi Carmen,

Welcome to the forum. Pricing is very subjective. If you have already researched your market and know what to charge, that is half the battle.

I think that border quilting really adds something special to a quilt. It frames the quilt. If a piecer is going to take the time and $$ to add borders, I think that the quilt deserves to have the border quilted as a separate design element. Of course, the border will coordinate with the quilt theme-wise and density, too. A quilt with an open panto in the center looks odd with a dense border; it lacks balance.

Two things that you have to factor in are:

Do you plan to SID (sitich in the ditch) the border(s)? On a longarm, this is not an easy task. It is time-consuming thus should be charged appropriately.

Does the border design dictate that the quilt be turned? For example, a freemotion leave or flower border could be quilted after you quilt that panto row. So no quilt turning would be required. But if you decide to do a chain or cable, that is a border design that looks best done in one continuous motion, no stop/starts. You will have to unpin the quilt and turn it and pin again. This all takes time. More time means more money.

In my area, if a panto edge to edge costs $100; a panto with a separate border and SID would get charge $125. A panto with a separate border, SID and turning would cost about $135.