need advice about a Millie I plan to buy from a friend...

Hello everyone,

I am a teacher at my local quilt shop where the owner has recently opened (about a year ago). She had bought a APQS Millie and planned to rent it out. Well long story short it did not go as planned and now she has it for sale. I am very interested in buying it. But there is one thing I am worried about. The machine has always seemed "stiff". She had one of the wheels replaced which did not seem to change anything. I just used it yesturday and it seemed even stiffer than before. It seems to resist moving freely more in one direction than the other.

It really has not been used very much but it has been used by several different people. Any adive on what you think it could be would be great. I just dont want to buy it and then have something go wrong with it right away. I am hoping that once we take it apart and put it back together to move it and just "ONE" person gets to know it that we will work out the stiffness. It just has me worried since it's always been stiff to some degreee.

Thanks for any help and advice you can give,

Julie

Julie,

First, welcome to the forum.

I think you\'re going to have to give us some specifics like:

When was the machine made? APQS can tell you that if you give them the serial #.

How much does she want for it?

Other than the stiffness, does the machine mechanically work. You can always send the head back to APQS for a re-furb.

Does the machine come with anything, like pantos, thread or templates/rulers?

Once you provide us with that info, maybe we can help you with some advice.

If you can get a good deal on this machine, jump on it!!!

Getting the table properly leveled and inspecting the wheels for thread tangles and/or removing accumulated gook will soon have it gliding along. Those wheels adjust for "looser" very easily.