The Garden weeds are out of control and I don't care!

A big Hello from my new sewing room. Just got my Millie two weeks ago. Just got to really start her up this weekend. (My brother's house partially burned from a lightening strike..... what didn't burn is smoked.) I'm kind of new to chats, so I don't have pictures yet. I started with a two twin sheets (Wallmart $3.oo) but soon got bored. I got some preprinted panels at the quilt shop this weekend for %20 off, so I loaded up. I've done two already and they look pretty nice. Alot of little mistakes, but I saw an improvement from the top to the bottom of the first panel. I even was brave enough to try gold metallic. I'm a little confused about thread tails. Do you just cut them when you start and stop, or do you have to tie them off. I just cut them, and they seem to look fine, although the projects i made arn't for washing.

Hello, Littleshoes,

Sorry to hear about your brother's house, hope everyone is ok. Just got my Millie about 3 weeks ago and can't wait until I know what I'm doing. Liked your idea about the twin sheets. So far I have only been trying to get my motion in synch. I'm having trouble with panto's, seems I can't follow a line very well. From what I'm reading it's PPP. I have my free class on Aug. 11 and I can't wait, as I have a million "how do I" questions. If anyone has any suggestions on how to practice on following a line without making squared-off curves, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks Joanne:)

Hi there...I had the same problems following the laser light when I first started and a great quilting mentor of mine gave me a couple of good pieces of advice...lighten up on the grip while doing sewing, you just need a gentle touch....also, don't look right at the laser light ~ look ahead to where you are going. Just like driving a car - you don't look at the hood of your car, you look ahead on the road to come, right?!?

Hope this helps....Sandra :)

Hi,