Getting Control of My Machine

sciquilter

Hi everyone,

I'm very new at Long Arm Quilting. I have a APQS Millenium. I'm not doing it as a business - just for myself at this point. Here's my problem: I have a very difficult time controling the machine. Does it just take practice - or am I doing something wrong? I wanted to quilt a border and had a very simple curved design that was on a paper roll that sticks to the border. I find that as soon as I try to follow the lines, I have a VERY difficult time staying ON the lines. My quilting gets out of control almost immediately. I feel like the machine takes off so fast (I use the stitch regulator) and I just can't follow the pattern to any degree of accuracy. I ended up ripping it all out and just doing a straight line in the border. I do better with straight lines & overall meandering. Do I need to adjust the machine in some way? Do I just need more practice? I want the stitches to look smooth, but to be honest - I just don't know what I'm doing wrong. Thanks for your advise.

Mary

We all felt that way in the beginning. First of all, slow down. With the stitch regulator you can go as slow as you like. As you get better you will discover that faster is easier but you don't need to start out that way. And remember that pantographs and quilt designs are guidelines. You don't need to follow the lines precisely.

Before you do an actual quilt I recommend you put a practice piece on the machine, with batting and a back. Then practice like crazy. Do free form from the front, do panagraphs from the back and practice everything you can think of. When you practice loops you will probably see that your circles will look more like squares. That's not unusual when you first start. Now relax your shoulders and move your body when you quilt, not just your forearms. Think of it as dancing with your machine. Put on some good music and move the machine gently. Footwork is important too but it all comes in time.