Pantos

I've been quilting exclusively from the front of my machine for some time now. At first I loved the pantos and that's all I did. I would like to get back to doing more pantos but could use some advice/opinions about how you figure how many times the panto will repeat from top to bottom of a quilt. The obvious way is to measure but I found that by the time I got to the bottom, something stretched and I had extra space or I had used up too much space and the last panto would not fit unless I altered it. Who else has had this problem? How did you deal with it?

Thanks,

Pam

Hi Pam,

I am new to LA-ing but was lucky enough to attend MQS this year. I learned so much from taking beginner classes. I attended one on using pantos and beyond. In the class she told us about a software program called Pantogram Wizard that does exactly what you are talking about. It is inexpensive and very easy to use. It is by Linda Mae Dinny and you can find it on her webpage, www.thecalicokitten.com. I just love it, it is so easy to use.

Email me if you have any other questions.

I guess I should add that you measure the quilt area to be quilted. Then measure the panto. Put these figures into the system and it tells you how many you can fit. You can alter this to be whole units. You then put a pin on the quilt at each location it tells you too, then just start each row at the pin. No more half patterns.

hope this helps.

Patty,

I went to Calico Kitten and checked out the Panto Wizard. It looks like I'm out of luck. It states that the Panto Wizard needs Excel or Microsoft Works in order to work. I know that I don't have Excel and don't think I have Microsoft Works. What is Microsoft Works and how would I know if I have it? I have other Microsoft things on my computer but Works is not one I'm familiar with. I know this is not a quilting question but if anyone can help me with this I would sure like to be able to use the Panto Wizard.

Thanks,

Pam

Hi Pam,