Compuquilter

Lesley

I'm interested in hearing from the quilters with Compuquilter added to their machines. How are you going with them?, are you having fun?, are there any problems you have encountered.

I have ordered a Millenium with Compuquilter but have not seen it operating and would like to hear any feed back from you all. I'm excited and worried it's a huge investment for me.

I was the first person to get the CompuQuilter retrofitted to my Millennium. I am still learning all the ins and outs, but I have quilted 4 quilts utilizing it. I have found that most of the designs that come with it are not ones that I can utilize.:( I have purchased several designs from Deb Geissler (www.designsbydeb.biz ;)) and a set of Jodi Beamish panto designs that Dee Dee Townzen had digitized and has been authorized to sell. Linda Lawson from www.blueribbonquiltco.com has also digitized some wonderful designs and I will be purchasing them from her soon.

I have found that you have to turn things on in a particular order otherwise things don't work properly. Also, I have found that when using advancing the quilt onto the take-up roller, I have to be sure to turn the two "run" switches off. If I don't, my Millie starts to run all by itself and sometimes when I turn my Millie on, my thread cutter starts going crazy. I sometimes think my system is possessed but Stan and Dee Dee told me things are okay.

I am still a newbie with my entire system and I am still in the learning stages of everything, but the quilts I have completed are okay - nothing fancy. I brought them over to my LQS yesterday (they have a Gammill Classic Plus) and were amazed at my circles and the fact that my stars actually had points and didn't look like starfish! I did tell them that I had help from the CompuQuilter.:D