Timing off?

JeriGirl

How can you tell if your timing is off? I am quilting with a flannel sheet on the back. My tension will look great for awhile then all of a sudden, the bobbin thread is just laying there and the top thread is showing underneath. I tighten the top tension and all is well for awhile then it goes crazy again. Does this mean my timing is off?

Thanks for any help you all can give me...........newbie here!

Hello Shirley,

I\'m no expert but I don\'t think thats a timing issue. If your timing was out it your stitching would be consistantly bad. I usually rethread the machine and make sure that all is where its meant to be. If all ok there then you could try to loosen the bobbin tension a little so that the top thread can pull it up. Also make sure that your bobbins are wound up nice, tight and even. I feed the thread through my fingers while filling bobbins. Make sure that theres no fluff in your bobbin area.

Hope that helps

cheers

Thanks so much for the information. I will try your suggestions. I am using a new prewound bobbin I got ( have never used this kind before ) so maybe that is part of the problem. Half way through the quilt so can not change bobbins now but will loosen the bobbin tension and see if that helps.

:P Too funny, Mary Beth, I blame the prewounds cuz I use sheets all the time! :P

The reason I\'d suspect the bobbin instead of the sheet is that when the weave is too tight it railroad tracks ALL the time, or at least pretty consistantly. From what she describes it\'s fine for a while then all of the sudden RR tracks. That makes it sound like something screwy is going on in the bobbin to me.

Do you take the cardboard off one side when using a prewound? If so which side? The one going in or staying out?