Rulers are sliding

PattyJo

I was just wondering, can I or maybe should I be putting some of the plastic film that goes on a rotary ruler onto the back of my thicker LA rulers? When I use them, I seem to have to push down very hard to hold them where I want to be stitching. Does anyone have any ideas on this? Should I be holding them with a hard hand or a lighter hand? Any help would be great. Thanks

Hi Patty Jo. Well, I am still learning but I use a semi-light pressure on the ruler and I am doing OK without it sliding. I find that I need to keep just a little pressure on the ruler or it pushes too much down through and on to the machine and then the machine doesn\'t want to move! :D However, I have seen (read it here) where some quilters put those little sandpaper dots on the bottom of the ruler to keep them from sliding. You could experiment with one ruler to see what you think about the little dots.

Thanks Debbi - I already have some of that & the Goo Gone to clean them with. I think that I have probably been either holding them down too hard or not hard enough and I can\'t seem to find the middle ground. The spray baste will help and not make my arm cramp up!!

Patty Jo, do you stop and slide the ruler (alternating with the quilting foot?) Kinda like a dance? I find it easier to hold the ruler still, move the hopping foot, stop and then move the ruler again; stop and repeat. It is harder for me to slide the ruler along and quilt at the same time (and easier to slip and mess up!)

Shana - yep that\'s what I\'m trying to do, move the ruler along with the hopping foot. Never thought about that as I have watched others move all at the same time and thought that is what I should be doing also. Maybe I need to do it as you do, hold the ruler still until the hopping foot is about to go off on it\'s own, then move the ruler again.