Piecing by serger???

Have any of y'all toppers ever pieced quilts with a serger??? I bought a serger last year (No, I haven't even unpacked it from the box yet, let alone learned to use it -big sigh-) just to finish the edges of home decor items and casual jackets and such, but the idea intrigues me. I have a client who is very proficient with hers, and her tops are extremely accurate. The seams are nicely finished, which means that I don't have to chase threads when I quilt them, and home-spun tops are much easier to handle with serged seams.

Sooooo, since I am very new to sergers- I was wondering if anyone out there has an opinion to share about the difficulty of keeping accurate seams when piecing by serger???

I use to work for Singer and McCall's well, way back when and I designed garment patterns , some specifically for the serger. It can't be beat for any knit fabric, anything with a little stretch is it's forte. But I have done home dec projects and I can remember making an applecore patterened quilt with lot's of small tight curves that turned out very well. Lots of pinning, obviously, and remembering you CAN'T sew over pins with a serger! It makes quick work of most things I've tried.

Tina, I haven't pieced a quilt with a serger - I do have one but have only used it once or twice and now I need to learn all over again:o However, I keep hearing that you don't want your customers to piece using a serger because it makes it harder to quilt. I would love to hear from those who have quilted a top that was pieced by a serger. Is this really true or just a fallicy?