crooked quilt

Hi, I am a newbie and am begining my first paying quilt. A kingsize that is really crooked. I have unpinned and even turned it so the sides are up and down and it's still crooked. This is for a friend so I hate to return it undone. Any suggestions on how to make it beautiful? Help please!

I am a newbie too, but it seems to me that you should call your friend and let her know the quilt is "a bit crooked" and let her decide if she wants to have you just quilt it as is (knowing the final result will be crooked and she probably won't be able to block it straight before she adds the binding) or maybe she would want to take it back and square it off herself. THe bottom line is you want a happy customer (and don't want to lose a freind!) so let her make the decision.

My 2 cents.

Sara

Hi Sue

So many quilts we get are "crooked" - probably more than are square so its a good idea to get yourself into a routine when you accept tops for quilting.

It is uncomfortable for most of us to have to point out to someone that their work is not 'great' but in the end it saves you time and disappointment when the finished quilt is not as good as you would like it to be. This is the bad part of our job.

When someone drops off a top I fold it in four (if its not already folded) to see if the edges line up. If not, I lay it out on my tiled floor. (laying a top on a tiled or wooden floor helps to see if the piecing lines are straight - less intimidating than bringing out a tape measure)

If there is a problem the customer can see it there and then and you can suggest ways to remedy it. Usually the options are:

Easing fullness in if its not too bad

Putting in pleats (along piecing lines as they don't show as much there) if it won't need too many and if the fabric is patterned.

Taking off borders and cutting to the correct size

The most common reasons that the quilts I get are not square are:

Bias triangles have stretched