mailing client quilts

Hi,

as I am a newbie and seem to be having cosmic forces pushing me towards accepting quilts from people by mail...what is the process, how much does it usually cost and who pays for the postage, and do I accept payment and have it clear before I actually start the quilting? that does make the most sense. but feel a little trepidation at the whole process. I would accept any feedback you may have...thanks alot...Denise

I don\'t have a large mail base, but it is a good way to increase your quilt volume. My customers pay for the quilting plus postage before it is mailed and the check clears, of course. If you send a quilt out before the check clears, you don\'t have anything in your hands for leverage. I haven\'t had any problem with my mail customers.

I am also fortunate that I have two post offices within a mile each way of me and I have to drive by one or the other if I am going some where. So I stop and get the actual cost of shipping and insurance before I mail it. Some quilters just charge a flat rate for mailing. Don\'t forget to add the cost of a box if needed in your shipping.

I do keep batting in my house. Many of my mail customers buy my batting so they don\'t pay for the weight of the batting to my house.

Good Luck,

Cheryl

I may do things a bit different than some or most so this is just my guide line not something written in stone.

I use WHATEVER is the cheapest (FedEx, UPS, USPS) for return postage....the customer pays both ways..... Cost can be as high as $50.00 per quilt depending on the weight and distance.