dxf to CQ

Marg Layton

I have no experience with digitizing, and am wondering if you can take a dxf file from a Statler designer like One Song Needle Arts and run it through the DXF to CQ program we got with our software package and then just stitch it out. Please be kind to me, because I am asking this question not knowing at all what is involved with this program.

I am going to be going to Innovations in September, and see that Page Johnson is offering a lot of Statler classes, and I am hoping to be able to take some of those classes and use the knowledge she will show us and convert it into use on my CQ. Unforturnately, I have not seen a lot of classes offered for CQ users, and the two days of training I received when I got my CQ were great, but now I am looking to broaden my horizons.

Marg Layton

Edmonton, AB

APQS Millie with CQ added last year

Hi Marg,

I have a CQ on my Millie too. To answer your question: statler designs are digitized with macros and they do not "convert" without extra work (in autosketch) in the DXF to CQ ready to use in our CQ systems. You have to take the designs into Autosketch first and do some work on them. If you are wanting to purchase a statler design ready for use inthe CQ, buy it from a designer who will do the work for you....I know Jessica Schick has many One Song patterns converted for CQ use. There are some really good sites out there to purchase CQ patterns from.

Taking classes at Innovations on Statler will give you statler use info which is probably good to know the inside working of if you know the CQ digitizing system already, otherwise, it may get you a bit muddled up.