borders

Help!

I want to learn how to do broaders on a quilt top. All I have being doing is pantos and mendering.

my question is, how do you put on a border design on the quilt top? do you mark the quilt as you go, or do you mark a design frist and then load the quilt on the machine?

I what to learn how to add a panto design border on the quilt and do a differernt design in the center of the quilt, but I don't know where to start.

i keep thinking that I would have to do the top and bottom of the quilt and then rotate it 90%.

Would this be the right way or not?

Boy do I have alot to learn. I am still very new at this.

Help!!