Tension Problems with Different Threads

JudyL

I was reading Linda's post asking about King Tut and tension problems. Here's my take on the thread/tension problems.

I've used the Ult. I and the Freedom and the only time I've ever had real tension problems to speak of was when I didn't have the top tension tight enough. I'm not an expert and Connie or Mark might have more to say about this and they may just say I'm wrong but I think it's the perfect combination of top/botton tension that gets the stitch right and I think (could be wrong!) that any thread should work on any machine with the right about of tweaking. What has always worked for me is to try ONE thing at a time. If you're having problems, don't tighten the bottom tension AND loosen the top tension because you won't know what actually caused a change. Just do one thing at a time.

I'm thinking that if I am using Signature 100% cotton thread in the bobbin and on top and I have perfect tension top and botton and a great stitch. If Linda is next door and she is using the same thread and she has perfect tension top and bottom and a great stitch, if we were to switch bobbin cases and bobbins, we might end up with a cruddy stitch because it's the top and bottom tension working in conjunction with each other.

So, if I have perfect stitches with my bobbin tension on 4 and my top tension on 6 (I know . . there are no numbers) and I change the botton tension to 3 and the top tension to 7, I might still have a perfect stitch. It just takes time and effort along with the foot being at the proper height.

I've used Superior Perfect Quilter, Poly Quilter, Metallic Thread, King Tut, Signature 100% cotton, Signature cotton/poly, Aurifil, Bottom Line (top and botton or just in the bobbin) and any number of combinations in the bobbin and while some give me more headaches than others, I can pretty much always get an acceptable stitch.