First Pantograph

I did it. I completed my first quilt with a pantograph. It's a charity quilt for Quilts of Valor. It was more difficult than I expected, but I got better as I went along. I was very critical of my stitching while I was doing it, but when I took the quilt off the machine and trimmed the edges it didn't look half bad.

I have some questions for you experienced people.

How do I treat the edges of the quilt? I quilted the design over the edge onto the excess batting and backing. Then when I cut that off, I wondered if the stitching would hold.

How do you hold the handles on the back side of the machine? I saw a video on youtube that showed standing beside the machine and holding onto one handle only. I tried it both ways - two handles or one - and neither felt very comfortable.

This question if more general:

How do I handle stitching when I run out of bobbin thread? I forgot to check it a couple times and ran out in the middle of a row. Do I tie it? Start back a few stitches?

Any other pearls of advice would be welcome.

Thanks.

Jan

Jan,

Congrats on your first panto. For me the 1st one was the hardest and then each time you learn something new. I only hold the left handle with one hand. I usually sit and roll along just fine in my saddle stool. If I'm doing a really difficult panto I will sometimes hold onto the left handle with my left hand and rest my right hand on the machine head. I've also tried holding onto the left handle with my right hand and put my left hand up on the take-up bar. Try all and see what is most comfortable for you. I much prefer sitting and stitching over standing and moving along.