top thread breakage and huge skipped stitches!!

Hi, I am Nancy and am brand new to the list (like 5 minutes ago!) If this subject has been throughly covered I apologize!

Help help help! I am having serious top thread breakage and skipped stitches. I have been quilting on my Millennium for 3 years so I am not a "newbie" but I am stumped! This is what I have tried:

the timing looks perfect

I've tried a new bobbin case

new bobbins

rethread bobbins

new needles

different top threads

pig tails are fine

We got a new hook assembly a couple of months ago and haven't had any damage or anything unusual since then.

I'm not going too fast (the needle on the stitch regulator portion of the dial is between 11 and 12 but I'm not using stitch regulator)

I put a new check spring in about 2 months ago, the first one ever needed.

Something else, when I stop stitching the wheel often jerks until I put my hand on it to stop it. Is this a timing problem or something related to my thread and stitch problem??? ARGH! Any help I can get from an APQS pal would be so much appreciated.

God Bless, Nancy

Nancy,

Have you tried taking the cover off the front of the machine (take the left side panel off) to see if there is thread wrapped around the wheel inside? I also had my wheel moving and uptake lever bobbing after being stopped. I fixed this by opening the top cover and turning the screw (so it goes faster) for the needle up/down stitch.

Just some thoughts.

Another Nancy :)

Hi Nancy,

If you are using a pre-wound bobbin, the yo-yo test should drop about 2-3inches, if it is a metal bobbin you want it to drop 5-6inches. Have you tried different thread? Loosen the top tension and see if it will work, you can loosen it to the point of loops, just to see if it will sew. if not, there has to be a burr cutting that thread, somewhere! Make sure it is not in the needle plate (in the center hole) if all those things check out, then I would say it has to be a thread issue!

Good Luck