machine troubles

I am using an ultimate ll quilting machine, until recently it has been going fine. But now, I have thread looping on the bottom, and stitches skipping on top and breaking. I have tried everything I can think of, we've cleaned it, oiled it, changed needles, checked timing, even taken off the side cover to check for thread wound around the wheel. NOthing seems to make a difference. The machine seems to be jerky when running, not smooth like before. I have ordered new needles from APQS thinking maybe the brand makes a difference? Any other advice or tips I could try? Thanks!

KimberK

Gee I am not an expert, so I hope someone answers you soon. You might try the bobbin case tension test to see if that is a problem and that its not too loose or tight. I have to adjust, when I change to thinner thread for the bottom. The other problem I am not sure what could causing that. I have had similar sounding I took my needle out and reposition, I don't think I actually had it in right. And my problem disappeared. Hope this helps.

Hi Kim,

Make sure that your pressure foot is sitting down on the needle plate when your machine is off of the fabric. Since it is NOT a hopping foot it needs to make contact with the fabric at all times or you will have stitching problems. It will even act like your machine is out of time and the problem can be in the foot. Check that out and if you still have problems, please call us at (800) 426-7233 ext. #6 and we will see what we can get done for you. Good luck!

Mark APQS

Kim,

You might want to try a new bobbin case. I had similar problems. After trying everything we could think of Connie said she's send me a new bobbin case and tension control. Never had to use the new tension control. Worked like a charm. Later I remembered that I had dropped the bobbin and the spring type insert came out.

Barbara 14

Thank you for asking that question Kim