Customer says her quilt was 3" off!

kwilter

I've been quilting for a woman for a few years now and never have I had a problem. When I sent back five of her quilts, she called me and said that her favorite (one that she paper pieced) was 3 inches longer on one side (I'm hoping she exaggerated). I haven't seen it yet. This is a first. I floated the top and as I was rolling it, made sure that both sides were evenly distributed, as well as the bottom being in line with the belly bar. Any thoughts as to what could have happened? In any event, I've ordered new canvas.

Another question I have is, a few quilter friends of mine pin their fabric starting at the top and then the bottom. Do any of you do this and could this eliminate any possible problem?

Thank you.

I would think if it was off by that much, that you would know it! The only way this could happen is if your canvas is off kilter. But that would be a BIG kilter! There is no way that this could happen to that degree without knowing it. Do you measure and check for square when you take the quilt in? If so, do you have an intake form that the client signs? If not, I would be sure and implement something for the future. Perhaps a meeting with the piecer is in order.

I have begun floating my tops recently and a pleased with the results. I do use my channel locks to keep all the blocks true prior to quilting. I used the pinning method successfully for many years as well. Either way should not make a significant differance if used correctly.

Thanks for your feedback.

I do measure the tops, but never thought of having the customer sign off on the measurements. I am now going to begin taking measurements in the presence of the customer when she drops off a quilt and have her sign it. I'll then take measurements when it's done and have her sign off on that, too.