Top thread is unwinding

I have just loaded a Brytes, now SoFine 30 weight three ply thread. I have used this thread a lot, and may have had this issue before didn't write the solution down!

I have threaded it through only two holes, up through the first, up through the third, in the guide over the tension disk. It is unravelling, untwisting, and of course eventually shreds and makes a mess.

It is on a cone on the back of the machine. Here is a not very good picture of the thread at the needle. The other picture is of the thread end after I cut it.

I am not sure how to thread this thread, and wonder also if the tension might be wrong.

Has anyone experienced this?

post-3245-0-70028200-1372527047_thumb.jpg

post-3245-0-55954800-1372527234_thumb.jpg

Just a beginner here but I have purchased somr of the So Fine #30...I see on Superior's website they say to use a 5.0 needle and reduce the tension....I am also woundering if you have the small spools or the cones?  As it is unwinding, maybe turn the spool upside down?  or is it cross wound and maybe should be put on a horizontal spool holder?  I have the cones but have not yet tried them...will be reading the responses....Lin

I have always like thicker thread and bought a bunch of So Fine 30wt when it was still called Brytes. I have used it before with no problem. If you like the thread to show up you will like this thread.