Top Thread Won't Catch Bobbin Thread

I'm about 2/3 of the way done with a king size quilt (of course, it happens to be for my son's wedding gift next weekend!), when the stitches started skipping. So I stopped last night and thought it just needed a new needle. After 3 hrs of switching needles, changing threads, blowing air and getting all the lint out, rethreading, etc. tonight; I'm looking for help here in the chat room. I'm a newbie, this is like my 4th quilt and have never had this problem. When I handcrank the wheel, it seems the thread on top seems to loop and the bobbin thread is never caught, so that I can pull it to the top. Any suggestions on what it could be? You immediate advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Pat B

Pat,

I'm not real "technically oriented" but let me list the things that come to my mind right off:

Make sure you have at least a couple of inches of thread hanging down from the bobbin case.

The bobbin thread should dangle off to the left side of the bobbin case.

Is your needle in correctly? I've been doing this two years, and about a month ago I put my needle in backwards. I had to get out my manual to check and see which way it goes in.:o

Take the bobbin case out and get down where you can see the needle as it passes down to the bobbin area. Turn the flywheel by hand. At the needles lowest point you should be able to see the whole eye of the needle, but just barely. If you can't see it or if you see more than the eye then you need to adjust the needle bar.

My last thought on it is the timing. The maintenance video is really helpful and so is the manual once you realize that it is showing things from an angle that you cant' look at without taking the machine all apart. Of course, the best thing to do is call APQS for help. Amy is really good at understanding our descriptions of "thingies". Of course, the best help is a DH or a DS that loves working on mechanical things and know the names of the "thingies"!

Phyllis