older ultimate 1 for a newbie?

Someone posted an 11 yr old Ultimate 1 on the board today. Its only an hour away from me and although I have eating sleeping researching machines lately, I don't know much about the Ultimates or older machines. Would this be good for a beginner? I have pieced for 10 yrs and am a very experienced seamstress, but never had a LA. I really want an APQS but my budget is really limited with being a stay at home mom and 5 fairly young kids. I'm hoping to quilt for others and make some extra money, I sew now for other people, everything from alterations to drapes. Quilting is my passion! Any advice is appreciated.

Crystal

My dad swears up and down that the Ultimate I is the best machine ever made as far as machine quality and durability...so you are looking at a great machine. The only thing that you will have to get used to is not having a regulated stitch. That is accomplished with teaching yourself to quilt at a steady speed...which people with stitch regulators should do anyway (it results in a better quality stitch). You will also have to plan your starts and stops a little earlier. Overall, it is a great machine for a beginner or experienced quilter. Once I am ready to put in another machine, I will be looking at snagging one of those used Ult I's up.