Suggestions needed-Frayed Hearts

You gals always have so many helpful suggestions, I need your creative soultions for this one . . . It's a customer quilt, Queen Size. The piano key border will be scalloped, she has marked it. She said do your "thing", I have done a number of her quilts, she's so much fun to quilt for, likes unusual and creative designs in the quilting. The Hearts aren't traditional applique, they are raw edge and intended to fray when laundered. I don't have any ideas for how to quilt the body of this baby (that won't affect the "Fray" factor). She likes my panto stippled hearts but that would tie-down areas on the hearts. I could use the heart panto on the border. I'm not experienced enough with free-hand to attempt the heart stipple, my brain gets lost after a couple of hearts . . . I have included pictures, hope you can help me with some suggestions. I haven't learned McTavishing or Free-hand feathers, I'd love to, but no classes in my area and I can't afford to travel. I'd like to do something besides boring ole meandering stipples . . .

post--13461900698426_thumb.jpg

I haven't officially learned McTavishing either but - just do a more-or-less curvy line up and back, then do 3 or 4 approximately echoing it. Then go in a different direction and do the same thing again. Repeat as needed. Be brave. This will work well around the hearts.

Let us know what you do on this one.

Sylvia from Canada

Dixie,