Backlash spin - Help!

I'm having a terrible time with bobbin backlash spin.......it stitches fine while I'm quilting but when I stop, the bobbin does not. Creates a mess in the bobbin, jams up the needle up/down and breaks the bobbin thread when I begin to stitch again......:(

This is a brand spankin new machine, new bobbins, new bobbin case - just delivered last week!

I've been quilting for 4 years, so I'm not a new quilter - just never had this problem before.

Can anyone offer some advice?

Feeling oh so sad,

Sherri Dolly

Millennium

I have had that happen also

Deloa jones said.. that some times its the bobbin even tho its new.. its thinner that it should be.. and just try a new bobbin.. (I found one box I bought had a lot of odd sized ones.. or at least my UltimateII thought they were odd sized.. :mad: those L sized bobbins fit into a lot of the new reg sewing machines.. so I just save my off ones for that purpose.

But will be watching for others comments..

Hi Sherri,

Also take a look at that backlash spring that is on the inside of your bobbin case. There are two little tabs that stick up. If those are laying flat you might need to take a tiny screwdriver and gently pry those tabs up so they are coming in contact with the bobbin. This will create some drag against the bobbin and make it stop spinning when the machine stops. If that doesn't work and you don't have another bobbin case to use, remove that spring and make yourself a little donut out of felt that will lay on the inside of the bobbin case inplace of the spring. This will create drag on the bobbin just like the spring and keep it from spinning.

Good luck!

Mark APQS