How do I "float a top"?

Hi out there,

I'm brand new to this site today. Can anyone give me info on "floating a top?" I've heard of it and saw it demonstrated once but to me it seems very time consuming. Do a lot of you do this? Pinning on the quilt is so time consuming itself. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Selah

My baby isn't here yet, but "floating" the top refers to setting up the quilt top from the 3rd rail leaders. the batting and backing are on the two front rollers. There is a video of the process on the cd I got with my manual.

It looks like it will take a bit of practice, but proper alignment can make or break the quilt, and you certainly don't want to ruin a customer's quilt. I'm sure there will be more experienced responses than mine!

Hi Selah

I'm by no means an expert, but this is how I float a top:

First, as with every quilt, I attach the backing to roller one and roller three. Then I lay the batting on top of the backing so it's edge is just beyond where the backing is pinned to the take-up roller. The batting then goes under roller #2 and drapes down under the machine table - making sure it's smooth and straight as it lays on the backing and under the machine.

Next comes the quilt top itself....I place the edge of the quilt top an inch or so away from where the backing is pinned to the take-up roller - letting a little extra backing and batting extend beyond the edge. I gently smooth the top, making sure to keep it square and straight. The quilt top also goes under roller #2 and drapes down under the machine table.

I then pin baste the top edge of the quilt and down the two sides, double measuring to make sure I'm keeping the quilt square. When it's pinned in place, I then run a machine baste line of stitching across the top and down the sides as far as I can.

I remove the pins and I'm ready to begin quilting.