quilt shrinking

Hello to all you experienced quilters,

I have a question that I didn't think about before. I never did bed quilts for myself and shrinking isn't an issue on wall quilts.

Is there an average amount of shrinking caused by quilting?

I have a customer who wants to know.

How much is a quilt supposed to shrink (low polyester batting, pantograph quilting)? 10 %? More, less? How much will it be with heirloom quilting? Hand quilting?

I am a quilter for more than 10 years but I can't remember any pattern or magazin instructions that said: calculate ...% of size for shrinking from quilting.

I am new to professional quilting. I just learn to measure quilts before and after quilting, yes Sir.

But for today please help, what would you tell a customer?

Regina in Germany

Originally posted by pieksdi

Hello to all you experienced quilters,

I have a question that I didn't think about before. I never did bed quilts for myself and shrinking isn't an issue on wall quilts.

Is there an average amount of shrinking caused by quilting?

I have a customer who wants to know.

How much is a quilt supposed to shrink (low polyester batting, pantograph quilting)? 10 %? More, less? How much will it be with heirloom quilting? Hand quilting?

I am a quilter for more than 10 years but I can't remember any pattern or magazin instructions that said: calculate ...% of size for shrinking from quilting.

I am new to professional quilting. I just learn to measure quilts before and after quilting, yes Sir.

But for today please help, what would you tell a customer?

Regina in Germany

All good questions.....but I'm sorry to say there isn't a sound and true answer.

If you have washed your fabrics you will get less shrinkage than if you didn't pre-wash, but from there its been a gamble for me.

I've have had quilts that were closely quilted on poly actually shrink more than the same quilting on a all cotton batting.