starting a business

It will soon be time to go back to school and I am not sure I want to do it anymore. I have been buying up fabric for several years now and have TONS of it. I just ordered another 112 yards Monday. The closest fabric shop is either 30 miles north or 30 miles south of us. I have the accu cut studio and LOADS of the dies. We have a 2009 Millie with quiltazoid and plenty of boards and templates. My husband is a retired postmaster but works a part time job. He is 59 and I am 55. He loves using the Millie and I love cutting and piecing. Our basement is about 1500 square feet and is finished for quilting (and looking at the woods out back!). To my knowledge there are no longarm quilters near us. The reason I am telling you all this is I need advice. I would like to cut quilt kits, fat quarters and squares, and sell them either on ebay or start a web page. We would also like to do longarm quilting. Which would be the best way? ALL advice and suggestions are appreciated! Should I wash and press the fabric first? Would there be a demand for fabric with fusible on back and then accu cut into shapes such as trees, houses, hearts and such? Any ideas or thoughts?

How exciting to think about doing something with your DH that you both love!

Making quilt kits will be easy with the machine. Maybe concentrate on scrappy quilts, since you have so much fabric. That would be what I would look for--a tumbler or apple-core quilt is so pretty with a massive variety of fabrics, and I don't have the stash for a project like that. Keeping the kits in themes--florals, repros, brights for kids, etc. could be a good idea.

A web site is necessary, plus offerings on ebay/etsy.

As for the fabric already fused--give it a try. Perfect for kids quilts and decorating. Do some research on the best fusible--some degrade over time and lose their sticky.

It sure looks like you are thinking seriously about this and have done a lot of planning.