Thread Buildup (small nests)

Hi,

I just wanted to say thanks to everyone who uses this forum. I'm just getting started with my millie and it has gotten me through MANY issues. I'm stuck, though. I really want to learn how to do the stops and starts method that uses tiny stitches but am having trouble. I pull up my threads, take a couple of tiny stitches, tug on my thread tails, then hit the go button and move the handles to take small stitches before moving them at normal speed. No matter what I do, I get little knots on the back. What am I doing wrong? Help?

Oh, I forgot. It seems to be ok with Aurofil but not with King Tut and a few other cotton threads thicker than Aurofil that I've tried.

Linda

Hi Linda,

Try using one method or the other. Either bring up the thread and take three stitches very close together with the up/down button, or bring up the thread, engage the SR and do the "wiggle" stitches. Doing both will result in thread build up, especially with the thicker threads like King Tut. You only need the three stitches to secure, so either way works.

Thanks Linda,

Please tell me a little more about the wiggles. When I hit the go button, I was just trying to take about 8 or 10 itsy-bitsy stitches in a row to lock them off (in addition to the 3 initital stitches to take the slack out of the thread tails).

I'm not sure what the wiggle stitches are or how to perform them.

Linda

• 1 year later...

Help! Bunches of thread on the back. I've spent all morning trying to get my top thread not breaking, which I finally did, but now the bobbin and back is a horrible mess. I keep adjusting the tension with no results. I started by loosing both bottom and top tensions. The top looks fine but the bottom..............

Do you have a towa bobbin gauge? This is extremely helpful for setting the bobbin tension.