Berny

I am a real newbie with my CQ so please bear with me with my questions and frustrations.

I tried a small baby quilt and thought I had the measurements correct but when I came to the end of the quilt I had about 2" left without a design. I had lots of batting and batting fabric left so I just quilted another row with half of it on the batting then trimmed it off. The last row had only half of the pattern. What did I do wrong and what do I do next time? (lucky for me this was not a customer's quilt!!) Now I'm scared to try a customer's quilt incase this happens again.

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Berny

Hi Berny, (in Alberta?) :)

It's possible that you stretched the quilt as you were rolling it, so it was no longer the length that you told the computer. This happened to me on my first one too. I had an inch more than I told the computer, so before I did the last row, I just told the computer that my quilt was 45" wide (no change there) and 10" long. It adjusted the pattern from 9" to 10" and it's impossible to see the difference! I was VERY impressed with how easy it was.

Be very careful about nor overstretching as you roll (remember what your teacher taught you in class ;)). But if you do, it's not that big a deal, unless you do need a full row at the end. Most of today's most popular patterns start with a partial row anyway, so there is nothing wrong with ending the quilt that way too. If you have a good interlocking pattern, no one will be the wiser. Just make sure you have enough backing if you do this or you'll be stitching to your leaders and hitting pins or zippers! NOT fun! :o

Thanks Darlene for your suggestions.

I don't think that I was stretching my top as I was free floating it but can you still stretch it when you are free floating it??

I have been trying to re-measure the top every row so that I jog it over if it is not starting in the correct place. Should I hit reset zero when I do that.