Advice on Faith's Wedding Quilt....

A dear friend requested a quilt for her wedding. She would like to display parts of it at her reception and have blocks or future fabric pieces available for guests to sign...guest book style.

I'm new at this and wanted to throw the idea out there to you professionals. I'd like the signature to last without damaging the rest of the quilt...any ideas or marking utensil suggestions?

If you opt for fabric pieces, back them with freezer paper so they can be easily written upon.

Use a blue water-soluble pen to mark a half-inch around the perimeter of the piece so no writing is in the potential seam allowance.

Identi-pens work well for sigs as well as Pigma pens. Identis need no heat setting, but Pigmas will hold up better with a heat-set.

Another option is to have all well-wishes and signatures written on a one-yard-square piece of nice solid-type fabric--again, backed with freezer paper and the edges marked. Any light color will work. Have all guests write on this one piece and then make the quilt backer with this piece in the center. Then the quilt can be used for many things and the happy sentiments are readable on the back. If you can get the quilt top assembled before the reception, it can be displayed behind the signing table.

The only problem you may have are mis-spellings and hard-to-read handwriting, but those will be part of the charm of the piece.

Have fun and post pics when it is finished.