Any trick for a great SITD quilt?

quiltingterry

Hi - newbie here and I would like to do SITD on my first quilt. I have already ripped two rows trying to do it without the compuquilter DAH!!! I have since looked in the book and is the "outline page" the best way to do it? Would I start from the middle and work backwards? What should my speed be? It is a flannel backing.......Stitch length?? Sorry for all the questions - just want to get it right....Thanks Terry

Do you have a channel lock? That's the easiest thing to use. - it will keep your lines very straight, but you can adjust it slightly as you're going along.

Make sure you remember to turn one on and turn the other off when you change directions (you can lock vertically and horizontally)! If you find your machine very sluggish, check to make sure you've turned off what you've wanted off. I've often thought I turned one off and the other on, but it would turn out I had them both on - very confusing for the machine and it doesn't want to do anything....

Use 10 stitches per inch.

Consider using monofilament thread in case you get off a little - it won't show as much.

Start at the side you've loaded (top or side - most people use side so you don't have to advance as often). If you're floating the top, put your stabilizing stitch line down to keep the top in place. Use your channel lock on this. I start in the center and go towards each side.

Then just work your way down the quilt. Don't forget to baste your sides. You can do this for what's exposed and do the remaining quilting on what's exposed, or do the whole quilt and then rewind it back onto the backing roller, and not use the top roller, and do your other quilting (if you have additional quilting you're going to do).

Think about a pattern that won't require a lot of stops and starts. A good one is like the edge of a castle - across, up, across, down, across, up, across, down.