Help please

I'm a newbie and have offered to do charity quilts with a local quilt guild. They have given me 3 quilts to do and one needs to be finished this week.

My problem is that the pieced quilt has a large print panel in the middle and will not lay flat. It has way too much material in it. Probably 1 - 1 1/2" too much. The rest of the quilt is fine. My question is, do I put it in my machine and try to work with the excess, or do I take out a little of the side seams of the border in the middle and just put a seam in the middle of the panel to make it fit? I didn't know if this would be okay or not. Other parts of the quilt appears to be improvised because of shortage of certain colors of material. Have any of you experienced this. Or should I call the lady that brought the quilts to me and get permission? She didn't piece them she is just delivering them.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

I would call her and give her choices.....she can take it back and fix it, or, you can fix it for a price, or, do your best quilting it (maybe with a meander so you can ease it in). If it is so bad warn her that you would do your best not to create any puckers but that you can\'t guarantee it.

I would begin with a high loft batting as possible unless you just have to use what they gave you. Then do a tighter stipple in the center and a looser stipple on the part that is not puffy and you should be albe to ease it in with ease.............no pun intended. It is amazing what you can ease in with a stipple. Use your hands to coax the fabric a bit if you have to. I often have my left hand on the quilt and my right hand on the machine.

Mary Lou,

If you read the whole thread that was sent to you today it will explain how you can actually get up to about 3 inches of bulk out of a quilt.

The higher loft will help, but you will have the chance of just pushing a huge bubble around while you are trying to stipple it down.