Help with Hand Dyed Fabric

I am in need of some help for my 7 year old daughter. She has 8 fat quarters f Sharon Schamberg\'s hand dyed fabrics. She wants to make a quilt with them, but I am completely scared to cut them up!

The colors are so beautiful I just want to leave them out to look at all the time, but they do belong to Brianna and I guess I have to let her make the quilt with them.

Her last quilt was made up of pre-cut 5 inch squares I got from ebay ( for a different project) so all she had to do was to sew them together. This will be her first time cutting the fabric as well... I hate to think of her ruining the fabric with a cutting mistake!

The only simple thing I can think of is rail fence (it has been a very short night for me!). I have never used hand dyed fabric before and not really sure where to start. I hate to think of ME ruining her fabric even more!

Does anyone have any ideas on 1- a simple design my daughter can cut on her own, and 2- tips on using hand dyed fabric, and 3- how I can get over my fears of destroying the fabric?

Thanks... now MORE coffee!

Nini Morris

A nine patch block is also simple...not as simple as a rail fence, but just as easy. You didn\'t mention how old your daughter is so I don\'t know what to say about the cutting issue.

As for goofing up when cutting...it even happens to the best of us. Don\'t worry about if there is a cutting mistake. When it happens worry about it then. I know when I plan a quilt I always figure extra to allow for an error. If a cutting mistake happens you can always buy another piece of fabric...it may not be the same in color...but often out of our mistakes something better evolves.

Cheryl

Nini, oh how very exciting! Pretty hand dyed fabric to play with.

I know how you feel about being afraid to cut it up. I have some that I like to "pet" occasionally but one of these days I am going to take the cutter to them and make something with it.