scheduling your quilts

I would like some different ideas about how other people schedule their quilts as they come in. I have been longarming for 3 years now and usually quilt as they come in which was OK with getting 3-4 a week. Now I get 3-4 a day! I have special customers who I feel I should do their quilts faster, but this is now impossible. I also own a quilt store and sometimes the staff will take quilts in and promise them to customers earlier than I can do them. I appreciate that business has taken off, BUT! HELP with the scheduling.What are some of the wait times that others give their customers and how do they keep track? Thanks.

I also owned a quilt store and the method we used was all quilts were put on the calendar as they came in at the last date available:

August 21 - Ms. so & so, e2e

August 22 - Ms. whoever, custom 2 days

August 23 - Cont. Ms. whoever

August 24 - Ms. Whats her name - 2 quilts both e2e

August 25 - Cont. Whats her name - 2 quilts both e2e

I found a weekly calendar works best so I could see at a glance what the week looks like and also if I'm scheduling time off or whatever I can see it quickly. This method also allowed my staff to know when the soonest would be for quilting to be completed. I also instructed my staff to not give a customer a time frame, but that I would call them to discuss the particulars with them. Now I would tell the customer the quilt should be ready the week of (fill in the blank) and not a set day. Hope this helps.

I have a white board that I number with all of the customer's names in the order the quilt came in. Then I put a date next to their name...that is an estimated date of completion. I am a visiual person so if I can look up and see where I am it sometimes lights a fire under me to get moving!

I fit quilting in around the day job so my solution won't work for a full-timer.