Quilt made with antique blocks

Hello,

I'm looking for advice before meeting with a customer on Saturday. She called me last night and has a quilt she has made with antique dresden plate blocks she appliqued on a quilt top - I think unbleached muslin. She has never had a quilt professionally quilted before...I am a newbie and have never quilted anything with antique fabric/blocks in it. I told her I would take a look at her quilt, talk to her about what she wants, and let her know if I thought I could do it, or if she should take it to another quilter in our area who has much more experience (and a very long waiting list) than I do. My question is - what should I consider when I meet with her? I have only done e2e quilting on customer quilts to date, and really didn't want an antique to be my first custom quilt! If she doesn't want to pay for custom quilting, would an edge to edge design in a very fine white or off-white thread look ok over dresden plates? I use Compuquilter, so working around applique blocks is a huge step up for my skills.

This forum has been so much help to me since getting Millie. Thank you for all the "hand-holding" you've already done -

Lore

Hi Lore,

working with vintage fabric is really no different that todays fabrics when it comes to long arm quilting. MaryBeth I think did one not to long ago for a customer and I think she used the baptist fan template. It looked really nice. I quilt exclusively in vintage fabric for myself and find it really nice to handle. Lets see if MaryBeth will see this and respond. Whatever you do I'm sure will turn out beautiful. Be bold...

Nora

Millennium

Washougal WA

Shana,