Broken Needle

Hi Ladies: Well, I had my first needle break on a quilt I was doing for a friend and it made a good sized hole in the quilt. It was on a piece that was 1" square so we decided she would applique another piece over the top and on the back would put her label over the hole. My question is, will I make a hole in the quilt every time I have a needle break...this is a very frightening thought!

This needle broke going over a seam that wasn't even that thick and I did the rest of the quilt by carefully avoiding that particular seam any time I came upon it. How would I deal with it if though I had been doing a pantograph?

Now I'm scared. I'm new at this but I know I will encounter seams bulkier than this one and I can't keep putting holes in quilts!

Thanks again...I know I'm always here with a problem and you are always all so helpful....I appreciate it. Cindy

I can't remember the last time I broke a needle. And I don't recall ever tearing a hole in a quilt. (Knock on wood) So I would say your chances of doing it again are pretty slim. Unless of course, there is something off that caused the needle to break in the first place.

I have quilted 2 quilts this year with thick seams, very thick seams and I did break needles (4 on one quilt and 2 on this current quilt). Usually what I do, when the brain is thinking, is to do a single stitch with the needle up and down button. If it still struggles getting in to the seam I help by turning the wheel at the same time. Or I just stop and hand turn the wheel through that section because it is usually only one to three stitches.

I have been LA'ing for over 5 years and it still can happen. Just don't get too worried, stuff happens, we are only human and we fix the holes.

Originally posted by ladygravyboat