Need help with PQ1500S

I have a brother PQ1500S, it is on a grace mini pinni frame with a sure stitch regulator attached. I have adjusted the tension top and bobbin. I can run it at the lowest speed and the fastest speed. It will stitch a few stitches without the bobbin thread coming to the top, then it will stitch bringing the bobbin thread to the top. It does not keep the stitches at the same length either. I am new at quilting but this is getting very discouraging and riduculous.

Thanks,

D

Hi,

Welcome to the forum. I have the same machine and used to use it for quilting before I got my Millie. I did not use mine of a frame but I think that some of your problems are probably related to the speed at which you are moving the machine. The stitch length will vary depending on how quickly you move your machine, you need to find a constant speed to have consistent stitch length. I suspect that the the the bobbin thread is probably coming to the top when you are stitching a curve. This could be to do with speed again or your tension. Superior Threads have a some good tension advice at this link http://www.superiorthreads.com/education/ Have you tried quilting without the frame. Are you getting the same results when you are moving the fabric through your machine rather than moving the machine across the fabric? Try a different size needle, maybe a larger one depending on what you are currently using. Try a different thread and see if you get the same results. Is you machine clean and oiled, are there any bits of thread stuck in the thread path? Try rethreading to make sure there isn't a problem there.

Good luck, I hope you can find an answer before you become too frustrated.

Sue