loading quilt with pieced back

Janice

A customer brought a quilt to me that has a panel in the center of the backing and then two borders around it. It is like a picture frame. She has, also, has a fused on design of birds & flowers on the lower left side . She wants me to center the panel & borders on the back of the quilt. Her backing was the same size as the quilt so I have added more fabric to all of it. Does anyone have any suggestions to make this easy and turn out looking nice? I am not very experienced and do very few quilts for others. I want to make this nice for her. Help! Thanks Janice

You have more than one problem here, Janice.

The top and backer started out the same size. You added fabric all around to extend the back so you can load and clamp it.

The original backer now is SMALLER than the quilt top--less the seam allowances all around.

You can load the edge of the top right up against the seam of the backer/extension and quilt to the bottom. Float the top so the thickness of the batting will suck up some of the top area as you quilt, and when you reach the bottom you should have a scant amount of backer left. Thus, centering the panel will not be much of an issue since there isn't much that can go wrong from top to bottom of the quilt.

The sides are another issue--if you pieced fabric extensions to the sides, you are now a half-inch (maybe more) short of backer across the width. Let your customer know that you will not be able to quilt to the edges--otherwise you will be within the seam allowance of the extensions.

Did that make sense?

It's like taking two sheets of paper that are the same size and gluing paper strips all around the edges to make the bottom paper larger. That overlap of paper makes for unusable edges on the top paper.