Quilting Levels

What do you consider to come up with the different levels of quilting and setting prices? Level I would be simple E2E or very simple meander? Level 2 would be more complex E2E/panto? What about SID, ruler work, applique and Quiltazoid, sashing and border different from main quilt? I am a very beginner but listed my business card in our guild directory coming out in January so need to get these things organized in case my phone rings.

I have meandering, e2e, custom, advanced custom and heirloom. Custom is minimal SID but includes anything that requires me to quilt according to the quilting pattern, such as special border treatments. My heirloom ranges from .06 - .10 PSI and it is done on a case by case bases. If my customers want custom I usually give them 2 or 3 levels (prices) to consider. I've learned not to sell myself short.

I would recommend you pick up the local LAers brochures at quilt shops and shows. Most price by the sq inch for meander, E2E at 2or3 levels, charge extra to turn a quilt, have a range for custom - not just one flat rate and a minimum for E2E and a different minimum for custom. Also, do a google and see what websites have to say. It won't give you going rates for your area but will give you an idea of how LAers charge, they are different.

There is a wealth of information for you here on this site. You have access to hundreds of professional quilter's websites simply by looking for them.

Log on and go to "Member List" to bring up every registered member. You can easily tell if that member has a website by the blue box--click on the website button and access their site. If they take quilts for hire, there should be info about pricing. Spend an hour comparing prices and descriptions of quilting offerings and you will get a tangible hold on pricing. It may change regionally, but you will notice a standard very quickly.