Spirals

I have a customer quilt that has a small spiral pattern in the backing fabric. She would like for me to do a spiral quilting on the quilt. Since I am new to this whole thing, and have not encountered this before, I decided to go the the experts!! That's you all!! I have a Hartly Fence, is there a way to do spirals with that, or do I need a ruler for spirals, a pantograph, my own drawing....help!!:)

Thanks,

Mary Beth

I did a bulls-eye quilt and needed to follow the bulls eyes on the top to stitch the spirals. I'm afraid it just may be an issue of pracitce and machine control. I thought my spirals were ok but not great. I wish there had been something like the circle lord we could attach to our Hartley Fence to do the spirals. Is that a possibility? Since we have the attachments, can't they make templates? I know the Hartley Fence does have some templates, is one of them a spiral?

The spirals are finished. I bit the bullet and did the spirals freehand. I did find a "ruler" in the Robs Rulers web site for $40, but to use on one quilt did not seem cost worthy. The spirals are on a child's quilt so whimsey is the key and it is a good thing - 'cause they are quite whimsical. Thanks for your input.....I hope the Hartley Fence people are reading your ideas....

You can accomplish a sort of "spiral" design using the Hartley Fence like this: