Loading a Quilt for the First Time

I'm a newbie, so please bear with me...I purchased a used longarm a few months ago and now have 3 tops I'd like to machine quilt. I have also purchased the zippers so I want to use them too.

I have read about the full/semi floating a quilt and am quite confused...I've looked at my machine and I have 3 rollers, but I don't see a leveling bar. Some have talked about taking 1 roller off...some talk about attaching the top&bottom of the backing with zippers, and only attaching the top right onto the batting/backing (not the bottom of the quilt top). When I ordered the zippers I rec'd 2 sets...do I only use 1 set or what is the 2nd set for? Also, some have described marking the leaders in 1-inch increments, so you keep the width of the quilt the same width measurement as you're quilting the machine...how do you keep this width measurement visible, as you roll the quilt the leaders become covered?

As you can see by the questions, I'm quite overwhelmed by the different info and can't see clear one technique that makes sense to me. I'd really like to have my first quilt be a success, so if you can simply describe the technique you use step-by-step I really, really appreciate it.

Thanks again for all the help!

HI paboriginal.

I have an Ultimate II and I will be happy to try to answer some of your questions. Your machine should have 2 rollers in the front and one in the back. The one in the back is the take up roller. The two in the front are for your top and backing fabrics. The batting just kind of squishes between them and hangs or you can roll it up and set it up there.

I don't have the zippers, but several do, and I'm sure they can help you with that. You're right, your machine doesn't have a level bar, so don't let that confuse you.