Customer education

How do you gently educate your customers without going too far?

I don't want to say too much. I tend to talk too much because there is so much wrong.

All the clients I get are beginners who have taken a class & learned to piece something together but don't have a clue about bias & & squaring & don't own a beginner quilting book.

I need the clients to grow. I guess this is just part of earning my stripes.

Thank you,

Joan

As a newbie myself, I think that I would be very happy to get any input from an experienced quilter.  I would listen to everything you would say and suck in the information!  Isn't that how we share our skills with others?  That is why I am on this forum.  I think maybe you could watch them and if they are eagerly listening to you, keep talking.  If they look like they have stopped listening, I would just tell them the minimum.  Perhaps you could ask them if they have any questions.  It sounds like a rather touchy situation, but as for me, I would want to learn as much as possible. 

I'd scour the internet for free tutorials that you can print and then hand out to your customers. Try to keep them one-page and sorted into stacks or files. When you find that a customer has a problem in a certain area, causally mention at pick-up that "there was some fullness in your borders" or "I noticed that your blocks weren't squared up before you sewed them together". Then talk about the easy solutions to those problems and offer them a hand-out. Have the particular instructions ready with their invoice. Don't go over the instructions with them, and allow them to decline the offer if they want. I'm sure most will be thrilled to have a notebook of problem-solving hints. This entails a bit of work on your part but will be worth in in easier-to-quilt tops you'll get back.

Issues to look for solutions to---

Squaring up blocks.

Quarter inch seams.

Border application.