Can I use these Needles??

I am new to long arm quilting an this machine and don't want to mess up. I recently placed an online order for needles and I purchased 100 Singer MR4.5 instead of MR4.0. Can I use the 4.5 and what type of fabric/batting would you use them for.

Help please, I hate to think I won't be able to use them.

Thanks for your input:cool:

In 10 years as professional quilters we have never used 4.5's.

We normally use 3.5's although it is recommended to use 4.0 and that is what is shipped with APQS machines. We stock 3.5's and 4.0's. When you are first starting it is probably better to use 4.0's because they do not flex as much as the thinner 3.5's and beginning quilters tend to over drive their machines and the 4.0 is more forgiving. Less broken needles.

John

Thanks John

I sent an e-mail to Columbia River supply asking to swao needles. I hope they dont mind. Dont know why I thought I needed 4.5's, just didnt pay attention I guess. I still dont have the rear carriage wheels for my Freedom. Who know's, maybe I'll just send the whole thing back, at this point I am very disappointed in APQS. I should be quilting, not sitting here wishing I was quilting. My money is gone since March 13, got the machine March 23, but no wheels. I hope they come before Easter weekend, or I'll pack it all up and ship it back.

Sorry for the rant,I am just sad. Thanks for your input re needles.

I had to send my carriage wheels back and they sent mine right out, I had them something like the next day. Have you talked to them to see when you can expect them? Normally, APQS is very good about getting you what you need. Don't get discouraged, they are the best company to work with. Hang in there.

Mary Beth

Thanks Mary Beth