ISO design ideas

I need some help in designs for this quilt.  It is for a man and I can't come up with anything to put in the 4 inch gold squares that would coordinate with the 3 inch borders around the blocks.  Or maybe an alternate  design block in  the borders where they meet.  I am not good at design give me a panto that I can follow :wacko:.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Also it is not to be heavily quilted and no thread changes. 

post-3454-0-95316400-1432236902_thumb.jpg

I just finished watching Kimmy Brunner's Craftsy class on using templates - she has a star design that you would be able to stitch in those squares without any marking.  The class has lots of other good stuff too.

Carol

I just completed a similar pattern for a client and the quilt was also for a man.  I did a single gender neutral motif- not so frilly but with interest- taken from Gina Perkes book Mastering the Art of Longarm Quilting.  Using my printer, I enlarged the chosen motif to the size of the larger block, in my case 12", and stitched the same motif in each square.  I  made templates for the individual features of the motif, and marked the quilt as I went with tailor's chalk, and free motioned each motif using my markings as reference points.  In the borders we chose figure eights, but I notice each square in yours has technically two borders.  A complementary design bordered from the motif may fit nicely into the double wide border. 

The end look was stunning complementing the quilting with the motif stitching.

Charlotte

Charlotte, do you have pictures of what you did?  I can't quite visualize this but it sounds like it would work.  Yes there is a double border formed by the blocks.  I don't have a lot of time to work on this. Thanks for responding so quickly. 

I do not take pictures of customers' quilts - too time consuming for me.