Starting and stopping

ramona-quilter

I am new to this and am trying to resolve my birds nest on the bottom problem so I checked out Linda Taylors Ultimate Guide to Longarm etc. On page 36 under Security the Stitches, I found "Each time you start stitching you must bring the bobbin thread to the top and secure the stitches so they will not pull out..."

So my question is ( and don't laugh) If I pulled up the bobbin thread and secured my stitches and was stitching along and the phone rang; Can I stop the machine, needle down, answer the call and resume where I left off. Or do I need to cut and start over by pulling up the bobbin thread etc. ?

Seems obvious to me but so much of this longarm stuff is different.

I leave the needle down when I go to roll the quilt...90% of the time...and it sure saves time with the 'shortie' I own right now. SInce there isn't a wide swath anyway, it was alot of starting and drawing up thread and etc.

everytime I came to the end of a row...Mmmm? I"m wondering if I get my

NEW LONG-ARM things will get easier.....still haven't decided on which

make and model to get...I am so impressed by several of them! To be truthful..I think it's down to who is going to throw me the "best deal" and

"lowest price" and "most for the money"...I've found one for $12,900 that sounds better than the one for $16,800...but it's scary...not knowing if I'm really getting the right machine. I've prayed about it and think I just need to give it more time. Maybe get my new knee put in and then tackle the

situation again while I'm healing up...I certainly DO WANT THANK ALL OF YOU for all of the mega in-put on the pros and cons of your particular machines. It is definitely figuring into my decision process...both my DH and I read all the letters and then sit and discuss. I wish I could just wak up and the machine be all set up in my studio and all I'd have to do is just

go 'throw the switch' and start sewing...Again..thanks all. ML

I leave my needle down too!