How to...prevent square circles

Hi, I am new to machine quilting. I am a little frustrated when trying to follow a panto. My curves or circles most always come out with flat sides, not nice curves. When I try to do circles, small to large, I end up with something similar to a square with curved corners. Am I just uncoordinated, or is this a learning curve. I prefer working from the front of the machine just freehanding it. Am I alone in this square/circle world.

Thanks, we loosened the wheels and it does seem to flow better, but have discovered some friction or restriction right around the middle of the table. I think that the tortion(?) bars are adjusted too much, maybe need to be backed off on. My husband is going to make adjustments. This is a 2yr. old used machine that we set up ourselves. Perhaps we did not get it set up correctly. Thanks for info.

• 4 months later...

I will be ordering my first longarm soon. I am wondering if you ever got the nack of making round circles, now that you've had your machine longer and have had more practice. I have a friend who also had the same problem, but eventually mastered the technique with lots of practice. Ann

Hi Ann and everyone

Hope you all had a great Christmas.

The advice about adjusting your wheels should help to give you the free movement you need to make smooth circles. I like all my wheels to be resting on the carriage or table rails and for the rails to be an equal distance from the inside curve of the wheel. Usually my wheels are touching the top of the inside curve of the wheel. APQS machines are the only ones where you can adjust the "tightness" of the wheel to suit the feel you like.